For mobile version click here
 NDTV Search
Common Wealth Game 2010 : NDTV
Click here for Commonwealth Games 2014 Full Coverage

You are here: Home » Sports » Rugby Sevens

Rugby Sevens

Rugby Sevens

Rugby 7s is a rugby variation played by seven players to a side.

It has been played at the Commonwealth Games since 1998 in Kuala Lumpur. New Zealand has won gold in all three Games since. A majority of the teams competing are among the top in the world.

There is only a men's competition, with a single Gold to be won.

Teams will play in four groups in a round-robin league, before moving into the final rounds.

Venue: North Campus, Delhi University

Training Venue:

Delhi University

Jamia Milia Islamia



Rugby Sevens' matches at Delhi University on 11-12 October 2010.

Medals at stake

    - Gold: 1 Men
    - Silver: 1 Men
    - Bronze:1Men


Men: 10 Teams

16 Teams (12 members per team)

Entries to be received by OC.

NDTV Mobile

-------------------- Advertisement ---------------------

Become a CWG Fan on NDTV

Become friends with your favourite NDTV people and shows. Start now »

Sonali Chander
Sonali Chander
Sorry for the delays! Do you agree with Mr Gavaskar that Sehwag should have had his surgery before the the IPL so as not miss Windies tour? 4 years ago

Fun Sphere


The Thyagraj Sports Complex, which will host Netball during the 2010 Commonwealth Games, is India's first eco-friendly sports complex, it was constructed with bricks made up of fly-ash. The stadium has effective water management systems like rainwater harvesting, sewage treatment with two lakh litres a day capacity, dual flush systems, sensor-based faucets, etc.